Operation: Working Vacation

I don’t vacation well.  I don’t think I…deserve one.  I mean, I know I work hard, but there’s so much stuff that needs to be done.  There’s so many pages of the Retros to color, I have hundreds of pages in the new Uptown Girl book to draw…not to mention all the stuff that needs to be done around the house.

When I was a kid, I was the type that saved the marshmallows in a bowl of Lucky Charms for last.  I wanted to enjoy them, I want to earn those weird little shapes after all the hard work of eating only the oat pieces.

I have a hard time enjoying myself when there’s work to be done.  I talk a lot about how I haven’t achieved what I want to in life when it comes to my artwork which is why I keep working at it.  A vacation will come, time off will come when I can hold a book that someone else published in my hands.

Am I making sense?

But I need a vacation, my family deserves one even more.  I haven’t had a vacation since the summer of 2012 which was like forever ago.  So at 6:58am on Wednesday, we, along with my wife’s sister, are all going to Disneyworld.  I was a little nervous about the trip considering all the stuff I have going on but in all honesty I am really, really looking forward to it.  I am on track with the Uptown Girl book, I am bringing the storyboards for the first Retros cartoon with to ink (the storyboards will be published in a mini-comic next year) so I’ll have something to work on.  In some ways, the Retros project is a vacation in it of itself since this particular project doesn’t have a deadline to complete like the Uptown Girl book does.

I’ll not admit I deserve a vacation, but maybe I’ll admit I earned it.  It’ll be nice spending time with my family, they seem like nice people.

Sophie doesn’t know yet.  We plan on telling her the night before.  It’ll be interesting to try to get a 7 year old to fall asleep the night before we go to Disneyworld.  I have been leaving her clues, however…

I draw a little picture to put in her lunch every day.  Usually the drawings are something she likes, like her cat or a cartoon character.  I like doing these as they help stretch my creative muscles a little and get me out of comfort zone each day.  For the last 3 weeks or so, I’ve been drawing only Disney/Pixar/Star Wars/Muppets characters.  It’s been a lot of fun and a challenge.  Disney characters have to be spot on or they look nothing like the real thing.  For some characters I would do my best to draw them as accurately as possible, for some I would put my own spin (re: Uptown Girlesque) on them, and for others I would go a little more stylized.   I wanted to show off some of my favorites this week.  I hope you enjoy them and I’ll see you when I get back.

TinkerbellRapunzel 2

Princess LeiaOlaf

LiloKermit

flounder and sebastianBelle

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Operation: Working Vacation

  1. Pingback: It Is Well With My Soul | uptown girl, etc

Leave a Reply

