At War with Reality

Yesterday was Free Comic Book Day.  Did you go?  You did?  Good!

Brian Bastian, his brother Dan Voltz and I were guests at Jimmy Jams yesterday.  It  was a lot of fun.  I’ve never been to Winona before and I really had a nice time.  I did a lot of drawings and met some really nice people.

It’s been a while since my last signing and I learned a little about my art style since then.  Well, maybe not learn anything, but rather embrace my strengths and stop drawing in a style I am not comfortable with.  At the last event, kids would ask for drawings of Optimus Prime, or Disney Princesses or Iron Man and I would do my best to draw a somewhat realistic version of them.  The drawings didn’t look good.  I decided that I am a cartoonist and realism doesn’t work for me (on a lot of levels).  I struggle with drawing realistically.  I always have.  I’m drawn (ha ha) to more stylistic cartoonists.  So, I decided I’d stick to what I do best and draw a lot simpler and play to my strengths a bit.  Doing that was the right choice, the drawings were better and I had a lot more fun.

Here’s some of what I did:

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12

It was a fun day and it went by too quickly.

Coming up in two weeks, MSP Comic Con.

Coming up in one week, big news so stay tooned tuned.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

