Wrapped up in Books

imagesIt sometimes hits me how much of my life is consumed by books.  Whether it is a book I am reading (currently ‘The Devil in the White City’ by Erik Larson), the book(s) I am working on (Uptown Girl – The Lazarus Heart and The Retros v. 1), the books I want to work on or the books I’ve already finished, it seems that books are one of the most important things in my life.  Of course, there is also accumulating books, buying comic books or trying to figure out where I am going to put all these books.

Could be worse, I suppose.

3This past week I received the proof for Uptown Girl – Imitation of Life.  It looks great, the printer did an amazing job and looks better than I thought possible thanks to Ben’s brilliant cover work.  I haven’t had a chance to go through it and make sure it’s all in the right order but I’m getting to that this week.

The other thing I’m working on is a Retros minicomic one-shot featuring Fly-Girl for Free Comic Book Day.  I haven’t done a minicomic in like…five years so it’s weird to be back at Kinko’s gluesticking pages to paper and making hundreds of copies.

1 2

Anyway, as for The Lazarus Heart, I just finished inking the prologue, which was about 20 pages.  The prologue was not a lot of fun to draw and it really challenged me.  I’m glad to be done with it and excited to work on the next part of the story.  Unfortunately Brian had to drop out of writing the book so I am going to be taking over.  I’ll be using bits and pieces of what he wrote.  This will slow down the book a bit but I don’t expect it to be delayed beyond what I already expected.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

