The Lazarus Heart

How do the fingers of this thing entwine? Which foot falls first upon the trail?

It generates few visible blisters, so may even be mistaken for an unearned reward.

As Fred Astaire once wisely sang, you have to “Let Yourself Go.”

So how do you begin? When do you know when you’ve reached your destination? What do you cut and when do you run without painting over the picture?

A thing of beauty?

Who needs it?

But that’s the very mystery and fascination of it.

The trick is, as I know it, is to care like hell and not give a damn at the same time.

-Paul Simon

photo

So today’s the day I start Uptown Girl-The Lazarus Heart.  The last five years, and in some ways, the last 12 years have been leading up to this book.  Big stuff happens in this book, big stuff happens after this book.  Characters will return, new ones will appear and not everyone is making it out alive.

I’ve been working on this book in my head for a long time.  There’s been little clues here and there in the last few books that something big is happening, something behind the scenes.  They’ve been subtle on purpose so as not to take anything away from the other stories.  Some of the things that are going to happen I’ve wrestled with.  I’ve gone back and forth on a dozen things.  It got to the point where I realized that I didn’t want to write this book.  I couldn’t.  I’m not that good of a writer.  Thank goodness Brian is going to write it.  We sat down a few months ago and we went over an outline of what the book is going to be about.  Brian added some things, took some out and made it a better story.  He also went back and forth on a few things, specifically the death of a certain character.  At one point they lived, the next they died and to be honest, I am not sure what is going to happen to them.

I don’t plan on working on any other Uptown Girl related comics while I am working on this story.  Normally when working on a big story I’d take a break and work on shorter stories that would end up in future books.  Not this time.  I’m heading to my studio and keeping my head down and getting to work.

Of course, I’ll be working on the Retros here and there, and I think we’re launching it in January 2016.  So yeah.

Big plans.  Big, big plans.

 

 

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “The Lazarus Heart

  1. Pingback: What I Really Learned in College | Tiny Boxes - comics by Bob Lipski

Leave a Reply

