Fitter, Happier

screamerThis is my beautiful daughter, Sophia Lorraine Lipski.  Ms. Lipski turned 7 about two weeks ago and despite photographic evidence, she is usually very shy and quiet around people.  She isn’t a fan of being put on the spot and being asked a question.  Last week during one of the many holiday dinners we went to, someone asked her what she wanted to be when she grew up.  Suddenly the chatter of the meal died and all eyes were on her.  She got very quiet and darted her eyes quickly toward me before (very quietly) saying “what daddy is”.  She didn’t mean that she wanted to be a guy stuck in a cubicle for 50 hours a week, she wants to be an artist.  It kind of threw me for a loop.  I assumed she didn’t see me as artist but as someone who left early in the morning and returned home 10 hours later looking tired and disheveled.  It’s nice when people see you as for what you want to be, sometimes.  It also surprised me because rarely is she so specific.  Usually when asked this question she kind of shrugs and says she doesn’t know.

drawingSo a few days later we brought her little easel and her ridiculous butterfly chair into my studio and spent the day drawing.  We always draw together, but it’s usually the two of us in the living room drawing and coloring.  If she wants to be an artist, then I am going to help her be an artist.  This works well with something I want to do more this year: drawing.  I draw every day, but….I know I could draw more.  There’s time in the day to do so.  Last year I set out to do two very specific goals.  The boring goal was there were things I wanted to accomplish at my day job.  The accomplishments I wanted hit required me basically not taking any time off.  I promised myself if I accomplished these job-things I would take all my earned vacation in 2015.  The other goal was I wanted to read more.  I set myself a goal of reading two books a month, not counting comics and graphic novels.  books  I read every night, but I wanted to read more books I haven’t read before.  I hit both of these goals.  As a Christmas present to myself, I took time off around the holidays.  I hadn’t taken that much time off since Sophie was born…and remember she just turned 7.  I was anxious at first taking that much time off, but I really enjoyed it.  I thought I’d be thinking about work too much to have fun, but thankfully that wasn’t the case.  I was…happy.  In addition to drawing more, I plan to work out more.  I want to be in better shape.  I’m not at the point where I wash myself with a rag on a stick, but I turn 40 this year and it’d be nice to be a little leaner.

So my goals this year are to be fitter, happier, and more productive.

Something else that I’ve been thinking about is how to promote The Retros.  Brian and I plan on launching it on January 1st, 2016.  And yes, that is a year off but we want to get really far ahead on it without sacrificing the time I want to dedicate to Uptown Girl.  I am not really good at self-promotion.  It tends to take me out of my comfort zone, but I launched a twitter account and I am updating it daily with artwork and character designs.  If you are on twitter, check it out.  https://twitter.com/Retros_comic

So, that’s it for this week.  Oh, as for Uptown Girl -Imitation of Life, it will be done this month.  I am going to redraw a 6 page story, and I have another 4 page story I want to do for it, and I need to letter 40 pages of a completed story, but it’s almost done.  Promise.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

