The Merry Old Land of Oz

Last year for my mom’s Christmas present I painted her a small picture from her favorite movie, ‘Transformers 2 – Revenge of the Fallen’ ‘The Wizard of Oz’.  This year I did something a little different.  I got the idea about three months ago and I’ve been excited to see how the finished piece would work.

Here’s what I did:

I took an old copy of the original novel and tore out a few pages.  I hated doing that.  I love books and ripping a book apart kind of bothered me.  But I got over it.  Anyway, I took pages that I thought were key scenes of the story and drew the scene that the page depicted.  Here’s the infamous tornado scene:

1

I used bottled ink and Micron pens to create this.  It was tricky using ink on the thin paper as the paper really absorbed the ink, but it forced me to work quickly and really commit to what I was doing.

Here’s the scene with the gang:

2

And finally, the witch’s tower:

3

I put all three scenes into a frame and presto:

4I really liked the way this turned out, and I really liked doing this.  I plan on doing something similar with a few other novels.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “The Merry Old Land of Oz

  1. Pingback: Some Pig! | Tiny Boxes - comics by Bob Lipski

Leave a Reply

