Busy Being Awesome

These past two weeks have been really busy, I’ve been wrapped up in a lot of various projects.  It’s been fun, but man, it’s been hectic.

In addition to writing and drawing the last 50 pages of the next Uptown Girl book (which I’ve decided to title ‘Imitation of Life’ after all) I’ve been working on the digital side of it too.  I sent some pages to Ben Mudek and asked him to work some Photoshop magic on them.  I also need to get going on the cover and send that to him so he can put that together as well.  You guys, I really don’t know what I would do without Ben.  I’m also lettering the stories I haven’t lettered yet.  It’s about halfway done and it’s going quickly.  I should be caught up on the lettering by the end of November.  While doing this, I came across this comic I drew for the book a while:

video games

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I looked at it and I remembered that I hated the final panel.  It has a bad layout and the crosshatching and the couch look lazy.  So I redrew the comic.  Here it is:

video games 2

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Opening up the final panel really helps the scene, especially with so much going on.  We are all going to pretend that the television and the video game console are plugged in somehow.  I have no ideas who Rocketman’s friends are in this comic.

I’ve also been working on a commissioned piece.  I don’t do a lot of licensed characters but they really are fun.  This time around I’m drawing Amethyst, Princess of Gemworld, a character from DC Comics.  The first attempt was…well, it was okay.  It wasn’t a very fun drawing to do but I was getting used to the look of the character.  I also completely fudged the magic effect when I inked it.

photo 1

So I took another crack it and went for a more action-y pose.  I liked this one a lot more, much more fun to draw and all I need to do is paint it.

photo

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Yesterday Brian Bastian, his brother Dan and I went down to River City Hobbies in La Crosse, WI for a signing/sketching day.  Downtown La Crosse has a big Halloween event each year and all the stores have trick-or-treating and events so we did drawings for the kids.  It was insane.  Dan and I drew while Brian helped us with reference material.  I can’t draw Iron Man’s costume for memory so him finding comics to use as a reference was a big help.  We had no idea how this event would go, but we started at 10:45 and drew and drew and drew straight through until 4pm without a single break in the line.  Between the two of us we did over 100 drawings.  My hand and arm are on fire right now.  It hurts to type.  Here are a few of the drawings I did.  I did a LOT of Elsas and Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles.

150129_10203967006069700_7536555592981236443_n

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

link unnamed unnamed2

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I did so many drawings that by the end of the day I could barely sign my name.  My brain was pretty tired and I think I misspelled ‘Lipski’ a couple times.

Anyway, that’s what’s up with me.  What’s new with you?

 

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Busy Being Awesome

  1. Pingback: Girl Who Could Fly | uptown girl, etc

  2. Pingback: At War with Reality | uptown girl, etc

Leave a Reply

