Face in the Crowd

Fallcon was yesterday, the first comic convention in Minnesota without our esteemed leader, Nick Post.  His presence was missed but the folks who ran the show did an amazing job as always.  The conventions, I think, are in good hands.  Hats off to them and thanks to everyone who was involved.

I met a lot of people, signed a lot of books and caught up with some friends.  It was a great way to spend a Saturday.  I also did some drawing, of course.  I like conventions for a lot of reasons but one of my favorite things is getting my table set up and getting some drawing in before the craziness of the convention starts.  I was able to pencil a page for the new Uptown Girl book before the show started, and inked it throughout the day.  These days, penciling and inking a page in one day is a luxury.

And it’s a pretty funny page, if I do say so myself.

Conventions always give me a chance to draw things I normally don’t.  Yesterday I was asked to draw Harley Quinn from DC Comics.  I’ve never drawn her before but I really liked how she turned out:

harley quinn

 

 

 

 

 

 

Conventions are also a great opportunity to do some people watching.  As people caught my eye, I did a quick drawing of them and I REALLY like how some of these turned out:

faces

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The first guy in the middle row is my pal Lance Ward.  He’s a great guy and a swell cartoonist.

Anyway, that’s all I have for today.  Oh, wait, one more thing.  I will be doing a signing/sketching event at River City Hobbies in La Crosse, Wisconsin on Saturday, October 25th.  So, if you feel like a road trip, come say hi.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

