The Lost Art of Keeping a Secret

So…I’ve been kinda going behind Uptown Girl’s back and working on a secret project.  It’s waaay to early to talk about, but I am really liking how it’s turning out.  And the big news is that it’s a project Brian Bastian and I are teaming up on.  It’s a lot of fun to work with him again, we haven’t done anything this big together since the first Uptown Girl graphic novel four years ago.

A little about the project…the delivery of the book is still up in the air…it might be posted online, or self-published or I might want to try to find a publisher for it.  I am not sure.  At any rate, this is a project we’ve been wanting to do for a while, and I like the format of it.  The format and the panel structure was inspired by comic strips.  I always knew if I ever did another illustrated project, it couldn’t be a comic book.  I wanted to try something different.  And although it looks like a comic book, I approach it like a comic strip.  I am working pretty small, each panel is about an inch tall and an inch wide.  It’s surprising how much I need to redraw a panel to make sure I get everything in.  Brian and I are also working “Marvel” style.  He gives me an outline, I interpret the script and it goes back to him so he can write the dialogue.

Here’s the first page:

 

1

Yeah, I know it looks like a comic page, and it is, and I kept saying comic strip, and comic strips are horizontal, but if you look at the panels, they are all the same size and could easily be rearranged to look more like a typical strip.  The reason I did it this way is when it is printed, the book will be more square shape, as opposed to a more rectangle shape.  See?  It makes sense.  Right?

Anyway, I am digging this so far, and here are some more random panels.  All of these panels are before Brian has had a chance to rewrite them, and the dialogue here is just to convey what is happening.  Enjoy.

1 2 3 4

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

