Goodbye, Yellow Brick Road

Christmas is finally over.  Again.
All the Barbie dolls have been freed from their cardboard coffins, many Lego bricks have been put together, much wine has been consumed, and the tree has been dismantled.  It’s the most wonderful time of the year.  Thank God it’s over.

As an artist, I will often give drawings or paintings as gifts.  I’ve talked before about how I construct a page of comics, but I thought it’d be kinda fun to show the steps I take when I paint.  I don’t work in color as much as I would like, so painting is a lot of fun for me.

My mom is a big Wizard of Oz fan.  I’ve given her artwork based on the movie before, and I thought it’d be fun to do it again.  As a cartoonist, I am used to telling stories in sequential form.  My brain breaks things down into panels, figuring a way how I would draw something that happened.  I will often pick out a random picture frame and using the matte as inspiration, I will try to create artwork using that.

For this gift, I picked out a rectangle frame with openings for three pictures.  The openings in the matte were small, which is what I wanted.  I am used to drawing small.  The matte and the frame resembled a blank comic strip.  I thought it’d be fun to use each frame showing the three companions Dorothy finds on her journey to the wonderful Wizard of Oz.

Here was the first attempt:

1

The splotches around the art are where I cleaned my brush off, or deluded with water to get a more subtle shade.  After I painted this, I realized it SUCKED and I had better start over.

So I did.

This is the second, and final attempt:

2

I was a lot happier with this one.  I painted both of these with ink, actually.  I like using ink because it blends well with other colors, dries quickly and it deludes quite well and can create a lot of subtle shades.

I laid the matte over, and I was done.

3

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Goodbye, Yellow Brick Road

  1. Pingback: The Merry Old Land of Oz | uptown girl, etc

Leave a Reply

