Twelve Pieces

I’ve just scanned page 164 of “A Long Forgotten Fairytale” into Photoshop and cleaned it up, as I usually do with artwork.  The entire book is scanned into my computer, I just had to add in the lettering.  I am averaging about 5 pages a week these days.  If I stick to this schedule, I think I’ll be done by the end of the year.  So, I’m cutting it close if I want this book to come out in May 2014.

I’ve complained enough at how slowly this book is going.  And it’s hard to really in depth with some of the challenges I’ve faced while working on the book without spoiling too much.  But it all comes down to the story being much more complicated than I expected it to be.  At first I thought the book was pretty straightforward, but that I am in the trenches of it, I wish I had written a very full, detailed script before jumping into drawing it.  I am noticing plot holes that I am going back to fix which is making the book longer than I had expected.  And since many pages needed to be redrawn, I am worried that adding the extra pages are throwing me off schedule.  This book should be out on time, but I won’t have much of a lead time on the follow up to it.  Yeah, I am already worried about a book that will come out in 2015.

Anyway, ever since I started to do comics, I identified with a lot of musicians in terms of listening to them explain their creative process.  A few bands I like have release 10 second snippets of songs for their upcoming albums.  It was fun to listen to these short snippets and wonder how these sounds made up a larger creative work.  I thought it’d be fun to do something similar and post 12 panels from various points of the book.  I don’t think these panels give too much away, if anything, I hope you look at these panels and wonder what in the world is going on.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

