I Don’t Sleep, I Dream

I have been having trouble sleeping lately and it’s REALLY annoying.  I know I’m supposed to go on Facebook and tell everyone when I’m tired, but I just haven’t gotten around to doing that yet.  I also haven’t been posing pictures of food I am about to eat or let people know when my kids are sick.  I’m sorry.  By not doing these things I am sure I am violating one of the user agreements or something.

Anyway, the other night I woke up around 4am and started to think about something.  My eyes saw the back cover of a comic book on my nightstand where there was an ad for a new video game.  I saw the rating for the game and tried to go back to sleep.  Lately my body has been tired but my mind is wide awake.  I guess my mind was bored with just laying there so it started to write a comic.  I sort of dreamed this little comic and kinda consciously wrote it at the same time.  When an idea starts to form you have to let it happen.  You have to fan the flame of it or it will die.  You can’t take an idea for granted so you shouldn’t ignore it when one starts to unravel.

I guess subconsciously I was thinking about the irony of “Mature” games and the typical conversations on Xbox Live.  Now, I am not picking on video games, I love video games but with anything, comics, video games or science fiction you have some very divided fans.  It’s a little frustrating.

I got out of bed and gave up trying to sleep and let the idea happen.  I made coffee and went to my studio and scribbled out the comic.  Here it is.

I had scribbled out a rough draft before I did the final version and it being 5am it was a little rough but it’s very close to the final draft.

So, yeah.  In the first draft the video game had a name of “Murder City-The Killing 7” but given recent events I didn’t want to go that route.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

