Thrift Store Chair

I have a scene in the upcoming ‘Long Forgotten Fairytale’ where the gang spends some time looking at and discussing furniture.

Yes, riveting stuff.

But in my defense, I am building up to something.  I need Rocketman to start spending money on ridiculous things which leads to one thing, which leads to another, which leads to the actual story kicking in.

The first time I drew this sequence I was bored out of my mind.  I couldn’t for the life of me think of a way I could make these pages interesting to look at.  And when it came time to redo these pages in a larger size, I dreaded doing it.  But I redrew them and here they are, before the magic of Photoshop.

I finished the scene (there are a few more pages to it) and hated it all over again,  The writing was fine, but the drawings were booooooooooooooring.  I couldn’t think of a way to make these pages interesting.

But the other day I had the idea of switching the location of these pages.  I was pretty limited in where I could put these guys and still have them discuss and purchase furniture, but the idea of a garage sale came to mind, so here are the new pages.  They still move the story along and I got to put in two pretty decently funny moments which replaced one that was sorta funny.

So yeah.  It’s a pain to redraw the book in the first place, and a bigger pain to redraw the redrawn pages, but I wouldn’t do it if I didn’t think it was worth it.  I am showing you guys this process because I hope you think the redone pages (no matter how many times) are worth the effort.

Also, my Kickstarter project is funded!  Holy crap you guys.  Thank you!  There is still time to donate and get an original drawing from me.  I don’t sell a lot of original art anymore so this is a good way to get some art from me.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

