Hooray For Bad Guys

The second Uptown Girl graphic novel, “Little Adventures” goes to the printer on Friday.  I am very happy it’s almost done.  I’ve been working on this book off and on for a couple years now.  I am also hitting my stride in the follow up, titled “Long Forgotten Fairytale”.  I am 75 pages into it and the set up to the book is almost done.  Without giving away too much, Uptown Girl and her friends spend most of the book in a land far, far away and I needed a reason for them to leave Minneapolis.  Brian Bastian came up with the reason, but it’s going to take 100 pages to set up the reason for the trip.  So I guess the first act is almost over.

Whenever I get close to publishing a book, I usually distract myself with non-Uptown Girl projects.  With “Big City Secrets”, I wrote and illustrated a children’s book…that I should get around to sending to publishers someday.  This time I am working on The Retros.  This is a project I’ve been working with Brian on for a while.  This is a good example of how you shouldn’t force something to work, or over think something.  For the past year, the origin of The Retros was a sticking point, as was the look of the main bad guy.  But over the last week, things started to come together.  I’ve had the main characters nailed down for a while, but this week I renamed a character and gave another a name.  Before he was just “the scientist” but now he has a name.  It’s funny, I seem to solve a lot of my creative problems while on the elliptical machine at the gym.

Anyway, last night I drew the first group shot of the bad guys:

Anyway, the…well, I imagine this project as an animated series, but who knows…show will have a main bag guy and a couple loyal followers.

You know, like Megatron and Soundwave and Starscream:

Or the Shredder with Rocksteady and Bebop:

As well as a rotating cast of random villains.  For The Retros, the main bad guy is the dude in the mask.  The loyal lieutenants are the shadowy guy in the back, and the woman on the left.  The girl near the bottom will come and go, but is a main character in the first story.

So, all these characters have names, but I don’t want to talk too much about these series yet.  But man, wouldn’t this be a lot of fun to do as comic?

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

