Is There Anybody Out There?

Cartooning is a solitary thing.  I sit at my drafting table every night writing and drawing without any idea if anyone will actually read what I’m doing.  Well, that’s not true, I know people will read it but I think cartoonists get very little feedback about their work.  And when we do, it’s usually months or even years until we get any response about what we created.
When ‘Big City Secrets’ was published, I got some very nice emails about it, but it was kinda weird since I had started the book about 2 years before it came out.  I had to think back about the creation of it, or try hard to actually remember the moments people were talking about.  I spent two years of my life drawing it and redrawing it.  But I don’t remember much of the story.  I was too close to it.  Maybe in a few years I’ll actually sit down and read the whole thing in one sitting…I still haven’t done that.  I can’t reread my old work.  Once it’s done, it’s DONE.

Anyway, the point is that as someone who creates, I like to know if people are responding to it.  If people like it.  If they don’t.  And why.  I have a blog, but does anyone read it?  I draw comics, but do people read them?  Spending so much time creating something and never knowing if people like it makes my job very surreal.

So it’s nice to get a little feedback on what I do.  I was in a bookstore last week and someone came up to me and said they liked ‘Uptown Girl’.  I was caught very off guard as I never met this person before.  It made my day.  And then Fallcon was last weekend and a few people told me they liked the blog.  So that made my day again.  I don’t need constant reassurance, and I would do what I do even if no one on the planet read my comics but it’s nice to hear people like the stuff I do.

So…thanks.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Is There Anybody Out There?

  1. joya

    You have many quiet fans out here. Many people don’t even think of contacting the artist when they are enjoying the work. I think you’re great, by the way 🙂

Leave a Reply

