Beginning of a Great Adventure

‘Big City Secrets’ was about action.

‘Perfect World’ is about humor.

The next book will be adventure.  I love adventure stories, such as ‘Bone’ and ‘Usagi Yojimbo’ and ‘Far Arden’ but I’ve never really done an adventure story.  The closest I came was the 50th issue of the comic series and the Uptown Girl annual that was a parody of ‘The Wizard of Oz’.  I didn’t do many adventure stories because I need room to tell the story.  An original graphic novel is the perfect way to do that.

But now I am just getting started on this adventure.  I’ve been working on it for a while, jotting down notes, sketching, working out the plot, but I’ve recently starting actually drawing the darn thing.  I am not far at all, only five and a half pages in, but I’ve been having fun.  I’ve done a pretty long outline, and Brian Bastian is writing a second draft of it.

The book will feature a villain from the comic series, similar to how Mr. Roboto was reinvented in ‘Big City Secrets’.  I thought I’d post a few sketches from the last few weeks and talk a bit about them.

First up is Spencer the Rover.  Spencer will be a key character in the book, but Uptown Girl will never meet him.

The next drawing is Uptown Girl in her roller girl outfit.  I don’t want to talk too much about it, but this will be a minor plot int he book.  This storyline was suggested by Brian.

Don’t worry, I will learn how to draw roller skates before I get to that part of the book.

And finally a drawing of the major villain in the book.  I wanted this drawing to look creepy as that’s the direction I’m aiming for.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

