New Thing Now

I always want the next thing.  Not the next gadget, but the next…thing.  Bob Dylan puts out a new CD and I wonder when the next one is coming out.  The new Kevin Cannon book is great but tell me about the one that is coming out next.  I think we’re all like that, to an extent.

Last week was the release of ‘Big City Secrets’ and a lot of people asked about when the next one was coming out.  Some people were very nice and enthusiastic, but some people were…well, less than patient with comments like “I hope the next one doesn’t take two years like this one did”.  Well, I hope it doesn’t either, but looking at the new book I think it was worth the extra time it took.

I told people that the next book was over half done, and I was even plotting the third one with Brian Bastian and had done about dozen pages of notes and character designs.  the next book is on schedule to be out in spring 2012 and that it was coming along nicely.  ‘BCS’ was started in April of 2009 and between rewrites, side projects and redrawing quite a bit of it made the drawing of the book seem like forever.  The book was finished in August 2010 and then I scanned and lettered the whole thing.  The computer work was a new thing for me, teaching myself some tricks and learning PhotoShop was a new world.  I touched up the art, lettered it and started over at least once.  Another set back was my hard drive dying on me and waiting a month while the book was recovered.  Thank God it was.  The computer stuff was done earlier this year and all that was left was the cover and touching up some art.  The book was at the printer in April and out on time.

This time I am doing the computer work at the same time as the artwork.  I am not waiting until the whole book is drawn before I get to the scanning.  With this book, once a story is finished, I scan it in and Photoshop it right away.  The new book is also different in structure.  ‘Big City Secrets’ was one big story.  The next book is a collection of short stories.  Some as short as one page, some much longer.  The story I am working on now is about 40 pages and will likely finish around 60.  These stories are comics that were done for anthologies or other books.  Most of the stuff in the book is stuff that hasn’t appeared anywhere yet.  Some stories were written by Brian, but most by me.

Anyway, I started this blog right around the time ‘Big City Secrets’ was wrapping up (the drawing part) and now ‘Big City Secrets’ is done.  It’s finished, it was printed and then sold out.  The second printing will be out this week.  I’ve never had a second printing so for that, thank you.  But I guess it’s time to start talking more about the next book.

The title of the next book is “Perfect World”.  The title took a long time to decide on, but it’s a representation of what I’ve been feeling lately as well as highly ironic.  The length will be around 270 pages, the same size of ‘Big City Secrets’.  About 130 pages are written, drawn, scanned and Photoshopped.  I have about 50 pages (from two different stories) that will be scanned once each story is done.

Here’s the table of contents so far:

This image is a comparison of the original artwork from ‘Big City Secrets’ and ‘Perfect World’.

The pile on the right is two different sizes because about 50 pages into the book I decided to draw on a smaller scale so I could be a little more efficient.

So, I guess this is the book you’ll be hearing about off and on for the next 11 months or so.  I hope you like it.  I like it, but to be honest I’m really looking forward to the one after this.

Typical.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

