A Mighty Big Broom

This was a great weekend.  The annual spring comic convention, SpringCon, was this past weekend and it was a lot of fun.  I sold a lot of copies of ‘Big City Secrets’ and I am going to do a second print this week, I think.

Conventions are a chance to meet new people, see old friends, draw sketches and get comics.  But sometimes there is down time, and I try to keep busy when there’s a lull.  Drawing is a good way to pass the time.

Today I drew a one page comic off and on throughout the day.  It’s not the best thing I’ve ever written, and to be honest I wasn’t even sure if I was going to post in, much less include it in the next Uptown Girl book, but I will.

Anyway, here it is:

Yeah, it’s not Maus or Watchmen, but there it is.  This was even the second attempt.  here’s the first try:

I should have thumbnailed the comic before jumping into it, as I ran into some pacing issues.  The above version is also before I drew backgrounds and cleaned it up in Photoshop.

I usually make notes to myself in the margins on the artwork so I can make corrections when I scan it in.  The top row has a note that reads “fix UG’s left arm”.  As you can see in the panel, her left arm looks really bad.

The next row has a note that says “define handle in p. 2” which was a reminder to add in a broom handle in the second panel, otherwise her left hand looks really strange.  The third panel also has a weird word balloon which I would have fixed on the computer.  In that panel I decided the balloon should take up the top of the panel, as opposed to being more left-centered.

The final row has the most common note which is a change to the dialogue in this case changing Ruby’s line to “I heard this is good”.

Redrawing this comic also gave me a chance to adjust Ruby’s body language and dialogue making Ruby seem more bored and thinking that Uptown Girl is pretty silly to care about what kind of broom to buy.  Another thing I do when I scan in artwork is clean up the borders and the ink that spills out of the panel.

So, in case you were wondering what a cartoonist does when they don’t have people at their tables, know you know.  We make lame comics.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

