Random Abstract

The other day I got the proof of the ‘Uptown Girl’ graphic novel “Big City Secrets”.  It looks really good.  The good people at BookMobile did an outstanding job.  Once I give the approval on the proof, the book will be printed and ready for sale at SpringCon on May 21st-22nd.  Just a heads up, the first printing of ‘Big City Secrets’ is going to be pretty limited, so if you want to make sure you get one, please let me know.

Being that it’s Easter today, I thought I’d post a comic about Easter, but I’ve been wrapped up with preparing ‘Big City Secrets’ for publication that I haven’t had a lot of time the past few days.  So which is why I have another post about seemingly random things.  I’ve also been busy on a few stories for the next ‘Uptown Girl’ original graphic novel, if you can believe that.  I am about halfway through on that.  Unlike ‘Big City Secrets’ which is one long epic story, the next graphic novel will be a collection of short stories with some only one page long, and others much longer.  I still don’t have a title, but it should be out in spring 2012.  This summer I’ll start writing the third graphic novel which has a working title of “Long Forgotten Fairy Tale”.

Anyway, in organizing some files on my hard drive, I stumbled across a few things I thought it’d be fun to share.

First up is a cartoon by Michael Jantze, the cartoonist for the strip ‘The Norm’.  I met Michael at a comic convention a few years ago and he was kind enough to do this little comic that was going to be printed in an ‘Uptown Girl’ trade paperback a few years ago but for one reason or another, didn’t get in the book.

Here’s kind of a cool drawing of a caveman that was a character for an aborted animated series pitch.

This next drawing was a commissioned drawing for a baker.  I like the way this turned out.  I did this drawing about ten years ago.

The last drawing here was inspired by a walk with my daughter Sophie through the woods close to where we live.  It was a very rough drawing I did with a blue Sharpie but I scanned it in and had some fun with it.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

