Paper Doll

I am in the process of scanning all 260-plus pages of the Uptown Girl graphic novel “Big City Secrets”.  It’s pretty boring.  So, I decided to take a break from the endless Photoshopping and get working on the cover to the book.  The idea I have is really quite strange and I have no idea how it will turn out, but it’s not a drawing, it’s going to be a photograph of a diorama, in a way, with Uptown Girl and the gang as paper dolls.  Kinda.  Sorta.  Maybe.

So tonight I drew Uptown Girl and the evil Mr. Roboto.  I knew they’d be in color, but I wanted to color them using a different sort of texture than a flat, solid color.

I started to think about the cover to ‘Uptown Girl Presents #3’ where I built the cover out of construction paper.

I really dig this cover and had fun making it.  I cut out construction paper and assembled Uptown Girl together and cleaned it up in Photoshop.  I thought it’d be fun to do something like that again but I wanted to approach it a different way.

First, I drew a picture of Uptown Girl and Roboto.

Then I dug out some construction paper and found color swatches for Uptown Girl and everybody else.

Using the tools in Photoshop I copied the color/texture of the paper and used that to color in Uptown Girl and Roboto.


I cleaned it up in Photoshop and that was that.  I am not sure if the result was worth the trouble and I’m sure someone with better skills in Photoshop could duplicate this “effect” just as well if not better, but I had fun.  I still need to tweak this a big, Roboto’s legs are a little uneven, there’s some gaps and I need to have Uptown Girl  smile a bit….

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

