Big City Secrets

A month ago, I wrapped up the first ‘Uptown Girl’ original graphic novel titled “Big City Secrets”.  I started it in April of 2009 and it’ll be available in the spring of 2011.

It has been a long but fun process.  Originally the book was going to be simply black and white.  Halfway through I thought it’d look good graytoned.  Then 20 pages later, I decided to keep it black and white.  It was hand lettered but then I decided to letter it in Photoshop.

Below are the first three pages.  What do you think?

In case you’re wondering, the gang of thieves is a group called ‘The Volcano Girls’ led by the devious Beverly Kills.  I’ll probably do something with them sometime, but I’ve got a lot of stories in mind before then.

The script originally called for four thieves and these pages are actually revisions of art I had completed a year ago.  When looking back through the book, I wasn’t happy with the first 12 pages or so and I ended up redoing them.  When reworking these pages I decided three thieves worked better.  Someday I’ll post the original pages to this scene.

Sorry for the poor quality of these images, WordPress is being finicky with uploading higher quality images for some reason.  I am still retouching the pages in Photoshop as well.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Big City Secrets

  1. Oooh! The more I see of this GN, the more I am anxious to read it! I like the flow of action in the pages, it sets up the immediate interest very well. Can’t wait to get my copy!

Leave a Reply

