Never Grow Up

“I don’t believe in guilty pleasures. If you f____g like something, like it. That’s what’s wrong with our generation: that residual punk rock guilt, like, “You’re not supposed to like that. That’s not f____g cool.” Don’t f____g think it’s not cool to like Britney Spears’ “Toxic.” It is cool to like Britney Spears’ “Toxic”! Why the f__k not? F__k you! That’s who I am, god___n it!”

-Dave Grohl

So…I…uh, I like Taylor Swift.

This doesn’t have a lot to do with drawing, but it has a lot to do with being a dad.

A couple weeks ago, I drew two simple drawings that I gave as gifts.

photo 1photo 2

 

 

 

 

For some reason, I liked these drawings more than anything I had drawn in the last few weeks and they only took about a minute each.  That probably had a lot to do with why I liked them…they were completely spontaneous.  I decided I’d try to be more spontaneous in the future.

So, yes.  I made a plan to be spontaneous.

My daughter, Sophie, will be 6 on December 17th.  My wife and I are planning her birthday party.  It’s hard not to look back on previous birthdays when you’re planning a party like this, so I’ve been thinking a lot about how Sophie is getting older.

Today I was working on the birthday invitations and was having a lot of fun with them.  I was keeping with the spirit of the two quick drawings I did not long ago.

unnamed

 

In case you couldn’t tell, pizza will be served at the party.

I was listening to Paul Simon as I was making them.  Paul Simon is “cool”, right?  Right?  Anyway, in his song ‘The Obvious Child’ he sings:

“I’m accustomed to a smooth ride
Or maybe I’m a dog who’s lost it’s bite”

The song is about growing older and although I am “only” 38, I am becoming a little softer and sentimental.  I’m losing my bite.  But fatherhood will do that to you.  I can’t listen to Loudon Wainwright singing “Daughter” without blinking back tears.

Sophie is also getting older and I try to be as involved as I can.  Her morning routine is on my watch, for example.  My wife’s mother suffered a terrible stroke almost two years ago and has pretty much left her completely dependent on others.  Almost every morning, Amy wakes up at 5:30, and goes to her parents’ house to help her mom start her day.  I wake Sophie up, make her breakfast, get her dressed and get her to brush her teeth.  When Amy gets back, I leave for work.  Sophie is very tired in the morning, but soon she is up and silly and dancing around in her pajamas and coloring and being herself.  It’s a little frustrating, sometimes, trying to get her to put her socks on while she is showing off her cartwheels.

Anyway, back to Taylor Swift.  I know, I know, I’m not really proud to admit it, but she’s pretty good.  I don’t pay much attention to celebrity gossip and all that, but I guess she’s not good at boys?  I don’t know.  All I know is I had her song “Never Grow Up” in my head.

She sings:

“And don’t lose the way that you dance around in your pj’s getting ready for school

Oh darling, don’t you ever grow up
Don’t you ever grow up, just stay this little
Oh darling, don’t you ever grow up
Don’t you ever grow up, it could stay this simple”

And my god, it just destroyed me.

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Never Grow Up

  1. Scott Tauser says:

    So true. I don’ t plan on growing up anytime soon and I’m 36 with two kids. Most people who are considered real adults are or seem miserable.

Leave a Reply

